Marrey wins Western Covey league

The Western Covey league is now in its sixth year and still going strong, both clubs work well together to facilate the 9 race series held in various parts of Mayo and Galway where both clubs have members residing, this year nearly 100 riders of all shapes and abilities had a go at one or more races, with the aim of the league to get all members used to racing with the aid of a handicap competition and rivarly can be fierce at times. The league started with a 16k Time trial in March and finished with a hill climb in September. In between there were 6 Hcap road races and a Team time trial.

The league has been great for both clubs with more and more members up grading to open racing each year as a consoquence of participating in this league.

Padraig Marrey Western Lakes CC the orginal instigator of the league finally got to win the league after many years coming close. The Westport Covies won the team competition for a 2nd year running and Ann Marie Egan Westport Covey won the ladies overall.

Full results click below,  there are 3 tabs at the bottom for each category.

Western Covey League Final Overall Team and ladies results Rd 9 2013

Western Covey league Overall

1st Padraig Marrey WLCC

2nd Sean O Malley WLCC

3rd Mark Quigley WLCC

4th Ger Corcoran CW

5th Keith O Connell CW

6th Sean Mc Loughlin CW

7th James Mc Greevy CW

8th Padraic Hughes WLCC

9th JJ Flaherty WLCC

10th Brendan Conway CW

Team Westport Covey Wheelers


1st Ann Marie Egan CW

2nd Siobhan O Malley CW

3rd Monica Nee WLCC

Most Consistent Participation: Theo Ingham CW

Most improved: Sean Mc Loughlin CW