2011 Round 5 Results

John Holian memorial results
The late John Holian would have been a proud man on Friday the 10th of June, when the who’s who of Connacht cycling turned up to race, Ras stars like Dave Brennan, David O Loughlin and Michael Duffy were there to race. Young TT monster from Wales and a proud Irish man Ryan Mullen (British Junior TT Champion) made the long trip across and didn’t disappoint.
Galway Bay CC were well represented with Nigel Forde there race captain and an old mate of John, Castlebar CC had nearly 20 racers looking to take back the cup.
12 minutes separated the front group from the Scratch riders, over the 35miles  with the scratch riders in no mood for hanging around, it didn’t take them long to reel in the 3 groups ahead, a strong 8 man group forged ahead on the 4th of the 5lap race,  Charles Prendergast Cunga CC , Ryan Mullen Planet X, Owen Clifford, Mike Ryder and Rory Geraghty Galway Bay, Michael Duffy Donamon and Castlebar Duo of Michael Conway and David Brennan.
This group stayed away till the sprint where Charles Prendergast just held off the fast finishing Michael Duffy with Ryan Mullen Planet X filling the podium for 3rd.
Big thanks to sponsor Paul Mc Donald Telly’s bar Cross and to all the marshals and drivers on the night. John’s Holian Family presented the Cup to Charles Prendergast.

1st Charles Prendergast Cunga CC
2nd Michael Duffy AC Bisontine
3rd Ryan Mullen Planet X
4th David Brennan Castlebar CC
5th Michael Conway Castlebar CC
6th Mike Ryder Galway Bay

Club league section
In the club league section of the race Mark Quigley sprinted home ahead of club mate Gary Collins to get  9th position overall of the main race, he was first club rider in the points section of the league.

Top ten  on the night.
1st Mark Quigley WLCC
2nd Gary Collins WLCC
3rd Jason Prendergast Covey Westport
4th Mike Dooley WLCC
5th Padraic Conway Covey Westport
6th Brendan Scullion WLCC
7th Aran Chambers Covey Westport
8th Danny Maloney Covey Westport
9th Kevin Ryan WLCC
10th Robbie Flynn Covey Westport.

Overall in club league after 5 rounds.
Mark now leads and will wear the leaders red jersey on Friday the 17th  at the Tom Burke sponsored race in Westport.
Sign on at 6.30pm at the Leisure centre, refreshments afterwards at Tom Burke’s bar Castlebar street.

1st Mark Quigley  on 132pts
2nd Francis Sheridan Covey Westport 101pts
3rd Padraig Marrey WLCC 97pts