2011 Round 2 Results

Western Lakes Covey League bigger than ever
Such is the growth in cycling in Mayo at the moment  that 2 clubs can field nearly 60 cyclist for a club league race.
Some very fast times were recorded on the Ballinrobe to Kilmaine circuit covering 9 miles. Fastest on the night was Western Lakes CC Padraig Marrey and Barry Holian.
The Rivalry between the the Ballinrobe based Western Lakes cycling club and the Westport based Covey wheelers is immense but very friendly  and though ambitions to win the league are near fever pitch at times but the comradely is still good.
With only 2 rounds completed the 3rd round is all to cycle for,  with the leaders jersey going to the first one across the finish line in Westport next Tuesday evening April 12th.
The first 2 rounds are about establishing who are the strongest cyclist  for the handicap groups for the road racing rounds of the league but the Hill climb and Time trial can still play a big part in who is the outright winner come round 11 next September.
Big thanks to Martin Mc Nally, Mark Quigley time keepers, Padraig Hughes and John Murphy sign on and Brendan Scullion and Pat Heneghan for marshaling.

Round 3, Tuesday April 12th, sign on at the Leisure park Westport from 6pm, race start at the railway station at 7pm sharp.

NameActual TimeSpeed
Padraig Marrey00:21:0841.65
Barry Holian00:21:5940.04
Robbie Flynn00:22:0839.77
Keith Hynes00:22:1639.53
Noel Brady00:22:5638.38
Noel Mulroy00:23:1137.97
Kevin Ryan00:23:2537.59
Joe Marrey00:23:2837.51
Gerard Corcoran00:23:3437.35
Michael Gilvarry00:23:3437.35
Crmac Cadden00:24:0236.62
Oliver Whyte00:24:0536.55
Keith O Connell00:24:0736.50
Bernard Geraghty00:24:0836.47
Francis Sheirdan00:24:0936.45
Andrew O Shaughnessy00:24:1236.37
Fergal Treacy00:24:1836.22
Colin Browne00:24:1936.20
Brendan Scullion00:24:2835.98
Gary Collins00:24:2935.95
Michael Dooley00:24:3135.90
Padraig Gannon00:24:5235.40
James McGreevy00:25:0235.16
Chris Kennedy00:25:0335.14
Tom Moran00:25:0635.07
John Murphy00:25:1234.93
Aaron Chambers00:25:2234.70
Declan Henaghan00:25:2734.59
Kieran Henaghan00:25:2834.56
Jarlath Toher00:25:3334.45
Mary Mulchrone00:25:4034.29
Shane Mulchrone00:25:4434.20
Adrian Garvey00:25:4834.12
Noel Gibbons00:25:5034.07
Padraig Huges00:25:5533.96
Colin Kelly00:26:0033.85
Martin Dooley00:26:0633.72
Dermot O Connor00:26:2333.36
Damien Gannon00:26:3233.17
Tommie Loughran00:26:3633.09
Eamon Marrey00:26:4832.84
Anthony Carney00:26:5332.74
Derval Devanny00:26:5732.66
Martin Keane00:27:1332.34
James Fitzsimmons00:27:1532.30
Gerard Coyne00:27:2032.20
David O Malley00:27:2832.05
Alan Flaherty00:27:4531.72
Gerry Sheridan00:27:5631.51
Darragh O Connor00:28:1731.12
Marie Frasier00:28:5030.53
Sean O Malley00:29:3129.82
Matthew O Donnell00:29:4029.67
Jim Joyce00:30:3628.76
Lydia Sheirdan00:32:4026.94
Jack Halpin00:33:2726.31
Bailey Mc Nally00:34:1725.67
Keith Hastings00:34:2825.54