Claremorris GP Results

A high quality field get caught  out by hard working A4 group.

After one lap of the 18kms course the scratch group had taken 3mins out of the A4 group and it looked all but inevitable that they would be caught with only 4minutes of a cushion  for the next 36kms.

Back in scratch group attack after attack meant cohesion went out the window and their average speed dropped dramatically in the 2nd lap.

Up front the A4 riders starting with just 16 riders were now down to 6 riders but all were committed to working hard and staying away..

In the end some of the scratch riders caught the A3 riders with 3k to go with the A4’s holding a slender 20second advantage, a mass bunch sprint looked on as the riders took the last corner with 500m to go, the A4’s just rounding the corner with a few second advantage, taking no chances young junior rider James Swift Castlebar CC opened his sprint early up the long drag and won by a few bike lengths from Anthony Hammond Ballina CC with Francis Togher Cunga CC 3rd. 

4th Eoin Waldron Annagh Wheelers

5th Patrick Murtagh Ballina CC

6th Colin Loughney Western Lakes CC

7th Charlie Prendergast Castlebar CC

8th Eoghan McArdle Ruane Galway Bay Cc

9th Sean Moore Bio racer DHL-FR

10th Ben Walsh Blangac France 

Race promoted by Western Lakes CC 

Photos on western lakes CC Facebook page