Feeley burns it up at Claremorris Criterium

Claremorris Criterium results

The fourth annual Claremorris Criterium and last year's national championships course was raced at a furious pace over 45 minutes plus 3 laps. A small handicap was given to A4 and A3 riders to give them a chance of competing against the strong A1,A2 bunch over the 1.2k lap.  Brendan Butler of the promoting club just held on to take the prime after 10 minutes before been swallowed up by the bunch.
After 20 minutes of hard racing a break eventually got  clear with Daire Feeley Team Itap, Westport Covey wheelers duo Aaron Doherty and Eoghan Mc Loughlin.
These trio never looked like been caught and steadily increased their lead till in reached a maximum of 45 seconds,  with 2 laps to go the in form Feeley attack strongly to open a small gap on the Westport Duo, he held the gap all the way to the finish for his second win in 5 days, the talented Aaron Doherty who is still U16 showed form and skill way beyond his years to take second and  young Eoghan Mc Loughlin who is another Westport Covey rider filled the podium for third.
These three riders are hugely talented so watch out for these 3 names in the future as they are sure to be champions.
Podium of claremorris crit 2016.
1st Daire Feeley Team Itap
2nd Aaran Doherty Westport Covey Wheelers
3rd Eoghan Mc Loughlin Westport Covey Wheelers
4th Darragh Bailey @ 47seconds
5th David Brody Team Itap
6th David Walsh Castlebar CC
Prime after 10 minutes Brendan Butler Western Lakes CC
Sponsors Flynn's pharmacy, Smyth's newsagent and Claremorris chamber of commerce
The race was supported by the Claremorris men's shed group and the local Red cross branch.
Western Lakes CC promoted the event under the guidance of race director Shane Gilligan.
Photos on western Lakes cycling club facebook page.