Brendan Butler misses out in Western Covey league


Keith Hastings is the Western/ Covey League Champion 2015

The final round of the league was held on Wednesday 2 September. This last round was inevitably going to be battle between Brendan Butler, Aidan Gill and Keith Hastings who were all in the running for the overall league top spot.


The race was held in Westport and the Coveys had the numerical and local advantage making for a difficult night of racing for Brendan Butler. The Coveys made it very hard for the Western Lakes lads but to Brendan Butlers  and John Conroy’s credit they both defended all of the attacks and closed down the breaks that were been fired at them all night.

However their repeated efforts took their toll on the lads and when it came to the uphill sprint finish and Aidan Gill and Keith Hastings turned on the power when required with Aidan taking the win, Keith 2nd and Pat Joe 3rd.

The high placing for Keith Hastings gave him the overall and well deserved league win with Aidan Gill and Brendan Butler taking 2nd and 3rd in the league.

Patricia Harte of Western Lakes took the ladies league overall win following her fine performances in the earlier rounds of the league so well done to Patricia on her first try and league racing.

The team prize went to Western Lakes and Brendan Butler took the most aggressive rider prize. Well done to all who participated and a big thank you to all of the marshals and helpers.

Overall league table

Club Overall table  Points
Covey Keith Hastings 225
Covey Aidan Gill 180
West L Brendan  Butler 150
West L Patricia Harte 140
West L Cahill Usher 100
West L John Stagg 100
West L Shane Gilligan 95
West L John Walsh 95
Covey Pat Joe O Connell 90
Covey Joe O Toole 80
West L Kathleen Barry 80
West L John Conroy 70
West L Martin Jennings 70
West L Monica Nee 60
Covey Bryan Hyland 50
West L Martin Joyce 50
Covey Colm Staunton 40
Covey Orla Harrison 40
West L Gerry Sheridan 40
Covey Osin Gannon 30
West L Noel Jennings 30
Covey Noel Kelly 20
West L Ollie Kelly 20
Covey Noel Mc Gourty 10
Covey Shane Royal 10
Covey Martin Wamsley 10
Covey Keith O Connell 10
Covey Noel Mulroy 10
West L Mike Kelly 10
Covey Micheal Needhan 10
Covey Tom Burke 10
West L Shane Holleran 10
West L John J Flaherty 10
West L Eamon Staunton 10
West L Yanis Blinovs 10
West L Sean O  Malley 10
Top 5
Keith Hastings
Aidan Gill
Brendan  Butler
Patricia Harte
Cahill Usher
1st Lady
Team Prize
Western  Lakes
Most Aggressive rider
Brendan  Butler



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s