All Ireland Criterium championships itinerary

Claremorris to host the 2015 National All Ireland Criterium Championships on Friday August 7th.

The town centre circuit has been used the past 2 years and the course has proven to be perfect for this type of high intensity street racing.

The winner will have to prove themselves to be powerful, skillful and courageous to take the title. Criterium racing is very different than open road racing and suits only a certain type of rider. The men from the West should have an advantage on this course with both the past two winners coming from the Fit science stable Ballina, Patrick Clarke in 2013 and Jason Prendergast 2014. The last time the National Criterium championship were held in the West the town of Westport was the venue and Navigators professional and Cong local David O Loughlin romped away for a solo win.

This championship carries world-ranking points and the winner gets to wear the Green Shamrocks on their kit at Criterium races for the next 12 months.

Western Lakes CC are promoting a bumper weekend with the Ballinrobe 2 day kicking of the day after  Saturday with 105k stage around the Tourmakeady hills and 2 stages on the Sunday a TT in the morning and a road stage in the afternoon. See for details.

The chance to become a National Champion will ensure a large high quality field some of Ireland's best racers due to attend.

This style of racing is the bread and butter for many who go to Belgium to see if they have what it takes to make it as a professional and there are at least ten Irish riders currently living and racing there who are all expected to line up.

Off the local riders taking part past winner Patrick Clarke will be to the fore, after spending a couple of seasons based in Belgium the chances of him winning here again shouldn’t be ruled out. The same can be said for his young stable mate, Jason Pendergast, also a past winner and has shown good form all year other locals are David Brennan Castlebar and Anthony Murray Westport who has shown consistent form all year and Western Lakes own Sean O Malley cannot be overlooked either.

Another Irish based rider, Robin Kelly of the Waterford Racing team’s, has come close over the past few years and he would dearly love to add this to his palamaries, Kanturk friends Padi O Brien and Barry Meade are real experts and have already signed up and are great men with it comes to taken a corner fast.

With the Suirvalley 3 day taking place over the August Bank Holiday weekend and some of the Team Asea boys showing great form maybe one of their stock could add to the titles they won on the road or the likes of Dublin's Mark Dowling who recently represented Ireland and raced aggressively out there; could carry his form and spring a surprise, who ever takes the title on Friday evening at dusk will have earned it.

The main championship is open to all categories from A3 to A+ including Ladies and Juniors but medal winners will only be the first 3 across the line regardless of category.

A non championship support race for A4, A3 riders, these can sign on the evening and their race kicks off proceeding at 8.40pm numbers allowing

Entry is online only for Championship and open to a maximum of 60 riders. Register at is NOW CLOSED but there are limited numbers of spaces left for DAY ENTRY.


Friday August 7th

Sign on open from 7.30pm at the Dalton Inn the Square Claremorris

Course familiarization from 8.30pm

Support race start at 8.35pm (A4, A3, Juniors and Ladies only) Numbers allowing

Course open 8.40pm

Senior Championship race start 8.45pm (50min and 3 laps)

Medal presentation on Stage at 10.10pm

Showers available at Claremorris GAA grounds

Prize presentation at 10.30pm at the Dalton Inn