Ballinrobe CycloCross Race Report

It's been 12 years since Western Lakes CC last organized a cyclo-cross event at the race course in Ballinrobe and its great to see the sport coming back to Mayo

Competitors are always looking for new and challenges and a more interesting way to get in the winter training. Cyclo cross is very much a high end cardiovascular workout where participants cycle on rough terrain needing skill and technique to negotiate the various twists and turns, add in the run sections over the hurdles and the skill to be able to hop on and off the bike at speed and you really get an action packed event that gets the heart pumping. There were a wide variety of bikes on display this weekend from 25year old mountain bikes to racers with cross tyres and proper cross bikes.

The 2.6k lap on Gilligan field, Cloonagashel,  Ballinrobe was made all the more treacherous when  heavy rain the night before and mist on race day made the course in to a muck bath.

The winner 12 years ago at the race course was Padraig Marrey Western Lakes and in typical Marrey style he also won the 2013 event but this time around was pushed all the way to the finish by up and coming talent Sean O Malley also Western Lakes CC, evergreen Chris Troy  Castlebar CC rounded off the podium.

Thanks to Cycling Connacht committee, Western Lakes CC and the Gilligan Family for their help with this promotion.

The next round is hosted by Tuam cc and will be held in the park in Tuam city, on December the 15th. It will be great to see Marrey pushed to his limits and maybe beyond by Troy and O'Malley on what should be a less technical and hillier course (go on Seanie).

Results below and some great photos here:


1st Padraig Marrey Western Lakes CC 55:40

2nd Sean O Malley Western Lakes CC 56.56

3rd Chris Troy Castlebar CC 60:10

4TH Michael Gilvarry Western Lakes CC 61:16

5TH Colm Staunton Westport Covey 63:21

6th Michael Devins Eire Og Sligo 63:49

7th Michael Flynn Westport Covey 65:01

8th Padraic Hughes Western Lakes CC 65:25

9TH Danny Maloney Westport Covey 65:26

10th John Lenehan Westport Covey 66:14

Under 16 (3 laps)

1st Sean Flynn Westport Covey 22:47

2nd Matthew Waters Cunga CC 25:24

Under 14

1ST Declan Maloney Westport Covey 24:51

Under 12

1st Matthew Devins Eire Og 28:55

2nd Dylan Watters Cunga CC 38:01