Mayo league starting on March 27th in Westport

Mayo Cycling League rules and points system


The format for the 2013 Mayo Club League is as follows:

Starting with a Time Trial then 6 handicap Road Races and finishing with a Hill climb.

There will be a Team Time Trial at the end of the league so that clubs can use it to develop there club riders.

The league will start with a 16K TT on March 27th out and back on the Leenane Road, Westport.

8 events count towards the league for the individual and Team/club competition overall.


Mayo League dates 2013




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap16k6.30pm - Westport




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap45k7.00pm - Ballinrobe




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap50K7.15pm -  Castlebar




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap50K7.15pm - Cunga




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap55K7.15pm - Swinford




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap55K7.15pm - Ballyhanuis




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap55K7.15pm - Ballaghdreen




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap5K7.15pm - Tourmakeady




Mayo Cyc Lge H/Cap40k7.15pm - Castlebar


Road races
A handicap system will be in place at all the road races, the aim of the H/cap is for cyclists to work together so their group hold of the scratch groups for as long as possible or catch the group in front depending on what group you are in, Handicaps will be at the discretion of the handicapper who will apply a seeding to all the riders participating where possible.

Points Scoring for Road Races
In the road races the top 10 will receive points, with everyone else outside of that receiving 10pts for participation.
Scoring System 
50 pts    1st
47 pts    2nd
45 pts    3rd
43 pts    4th
42 pts    5th
41 pts    6th
40 pts    7th
39 pts    8th
38 pts    9th
37 pts    10th

10 pts     for everyone who participates in each individual Road Race.


Bonus points

We are also going to apply a bonus points system in the RR for participants who are 1st, 2nd and 3rd over the finishing line from their respective groups of 15,10, and 5pts. The aim here is that racing will happen within each group regardless of their finishing position. Only riders who are outside the top ten can go for the bonus points.


Team Time Trial

Clubs can enter as many teams as they wish however only two teams points from one club will contribute towards points in the team classification. Teams can have up to 7 riders with the time of the 5th rider over the finish line to count as the overall team time.


50 pts    1st – Fastest Team
47 pts    2nd
45 pts    3rd
43 pts    4th
42 pts    5th
41 pts    6th
40 pts    7th
39 pts    8th
38 pts    9th
37 pts    10th

10 pts   for every other team


The league points overall will only be open to cyclists from Mayo affiliated cycling clubs only.
Cyclists from outside Mayo may race at the discretion of the Mayo Cycling Committee.

Fair play is considered a must at all events.

The Rules of the Road will strictly be adhered to.

Categories & Licensing:  
1 Cyclists must have one of the following categories of License: Ladies, U16, Juniors, Club Competition, A4, A3, A2 & A1.

2 Leisure License holders cannot participate.

3 Cyclists must have their License and race number at each race.


Rules of the Competition 
1    Helmets are compulsory.

2    Sign on for individual races will close 15 minutes before the start. Riders   who fail to sign on will be refused race entry.

3    Every rider must wear a number pinned to the back of their jersey at      every race, this number must not be covered by a rain jacket or clothing.
4    Rules of Cycling Ireland apply.

5    Riders must wear their own club or team racing jersey or a plain jersey. Pro team jerseys are not permitted under Cycling Ireland rules
6    No tri bars allowed in the Road Races.
7    No drafting in the Time Trials.
   Handicap committee decision is final, no debating on the start line.
   Obey the Marshalls.
10    €50 Entry fee for the 9 races paid before competition starts
Or €10 Entry fee per race.

11    All race expenses must be paid for on the night.
12   2/3 of the entries after expenses go towards Prize Fund

13   The league will be held on open roads and all competitors must obey the rules of the road. Riders found to be breaking these rules or riding in a dangerous manner will be subject to penalty, which may include disqualification from an individual race or from the entire series.  Decisions made on this matter will be made by the organisers and are final. Riders must obey marshalls instructions

14   Earphones, Ipods, MP3 players etc. Are strictly forbidden in all events. Riders found to be using these are subject to automatic disqualification


The first 3 across the line at each race. These riders must present themselves for a podium shot at each race presentation.

The person leading the overall points is obliged to wear the Leaders yellow jersey in each race.

The top 6 overall.

The most improved rider’s competition. The committee decision will be based on overall improvement and their decision is final.

Team prize.

Prize presentation may take place at the Mayo cycling championships or as directed by Mayo cycling committee
Team Competition
The points awarded to riders finishing in the top ten in each race will be used for the calculation of the Team points competition. Clubs will also score points in the Team Time Trial race. Clubs can enter as many Teams as they wish with the fastest two scores to count in their Team points tally. The Club with the highest winning points total at the end of the league wins the Mayo League Club ‘Team Prize’.





%d bloggers like this: