Ballinrobe athlete wins cycling league

Sean O Malley of Ballinrobe was the winner of the 11 round Western/ Covey cycling league, Sean who only took up cycling only 16months ago has made tremendous progress, where he started of by racing in the front group who got big handicaps on the scratch (more experienced cyclist) to eventually joining the scratch group where he scored impressively against far more experienced cyclists.

The league attracted over 100 racing cyclist from both the Western Lakes CC and Westport Covey Wheelers clubs. Marrey Bikes Ballinrobe sponsored a set of red leader jerseys with the lead changing hands no fewer than six times.

Cycling has boomed in Mayo in recent years with both clubs thriving, this been the fifth edition of the league, it acts as a catalyst to steering ordinary leisure cyclist towards racing. The handicap system suits all abilities with improvements been made by all the categories.

Western Lakes CC has nearly 130 members the biggest in Connacht and Westport Covey have 120 members which proves how successful both clubs have been in the past 5 years.

Second place in the league went to Glenhest Newport man James Mc Greevy, the Covey cyclist was in contention for the win up till the final rounds.

Ger Corcoran Westport Covey was third.

In the most improved competition, Westport’s Colin Kelly bettered his time the most in the 15k Time Trial winning that award and Pat Monaghan took a staggering 2mins and 5seconds of his Hill climb time to win the most improved hill climber.

The rider making the biggest time improvements was Colin Kelly as he was 2nd most improved in the hill climb, making it a good season for him.

In 2012 addition of the league a team competition was added to see which club had the most amount of riders finishing in the top ten, Pressure was on each club to get as many member to turnout   and secondly be as competitive as possible so that they might score points, the Westport Covey club proved far most consistent out scoring the Ballinrobe based club to win the competition overall.

The prize giving will take place in Tommy Burke’s bar Westport on Sunday the 7th of October for  'free' buffet style meal and finger food served at 7pm with presentation at 8pm sharp.

Full results on and


1st Sean O Malley Ballinrobe Western Lakes CC 658pts

2nd James Mc Greevy  Newport Westport Covey 577pts

3rd Gerard Corcoran Westport, Westport Covey 530pts

4th Shane Gilligan Carramore Western Lakes 528pts

5th Martin Joyce Ballinrobe Western Lakes 510pts

6th Kevin Ryan Kilmaine Western Lakes 492pts

7th Keith O Connell Westport, Westport Covey 487pts

8th Colin Kelly Westport, Westport Covey 465pts

9th Padraig Marrey Ballinrobe Western Lakes 453pts

10th Pa Joe O Connell Westport, Westport Covey 434pts

Most Improved

Time Trial Colin Kelly Westport Covey

Hill Climb Pat Monaghan Westport Covey

Team/ Club Westport Covey Wheelers


Group/ Ave speedNameSignatureNumClubHill MarchHill  SeptPts Rd1TT TimeFinal TT TimePts Rd 2Rd3Rd 4Rd5Rd6Rd7Rd8Rd9Rd10 BonusRd10Rnd11RD11 BonusTotal Pts
40K/4Sean O Malley10WLCC14.2114.208722.3621.4690424047385047399088658
40K/4James Mc Greevy12CW15.3915.057924.1122.478210105047431038828640577
40K/4Gerard Corcoran287CW14.4015.198621.5322.069240454342108884530
38K/3Shane Gilligan26WLCC17.0016.066824.4623.01791010371040201042807943528
38K/3Martin Joyce14WLCC17.3416.44642624.46661039101039381037707542510
38K/3Kevin Ryan940wlcc14.0913.578822.4222.138910103742378792492
38K/3Keith O'Connell457CW15.5815.287822.5422.2987101038103910858238487
35K/2Colin Kelly3CW17.5316.476126.1824.056410101010104550747447465
40K/4Padraig Marrey81Wlcc13.1713.1110020.4895105020434095453
38K/3Patjoe O'Connell39CW17.5217.506225.2423.53713838102010407669434
32K/1Patrick Monaghan40CW19.5117.465628.1526.155610101010201045677050414
35K/2Sean Flynn296CW14.0814.028925.0824.577610101010699037401
38K/3Kieran Heneghan94WLCC15.158323.5922.58834110201010501081398
35K/2James Fitzsimons41CW17.2817.336726.0224.11651010103710437371396
35K/2David Mc Dermott43WLCC18.1117.216025.2624.346910101050727242395
40K/4Michael Brady144CW13.219522.428843415041358
38K/3Brendan Conway42CW14.4414.1185dns23.4201010101010778939340
35K/2Damien Gannon9CW16.0615.047625.247010102010108745338
40K/4Michael FlanaganWLCC14.1122.37421043418389308
32K/1Noreen O Toole5CW19.1919.215727.1527.0660101010206467298
38K/3Richard Meaney18CW16.227025.0823.2975104178274
38K/3Con DohertyCW12.3421.285010100100260
40K/4Barry Holian198WLCC13.419020.36100471010257
35K/2Declan Heneghan50WLCC16.047725.1524.4572102071250
32K/1Andrea Heneghan11WLCC23.145528.426.375410104766242
40K/4Tom BourkeCW15.16394239101085225
38K/3Francis Sheridan96CW14.528423.478510101010209
40K/4Michael GilvarryWLCC22434510101089207
35K/2Joe BrowneCWDNS025.1074101010103847199
40K/4Oliver WhyteCw15.3321.2910109581196
38K/3Noel MulroyCWDNS023.2023.028610101079195
35K/2Mary Mulchrone2wlcc16.436924.53782020187
40K/4Paraic Conway47CW15.2382dns22.30101084186
38K/3Mark KellyWLCC15.2321.38109283185
40K/4Donal Harrington634WLCC13.2892dns0371045184
32K/1Adrian FlanneryWlccDNS028.1126.425710103965181
38K/3Padraic HughesWlccDNS17.16024.1181101073174
40K/4JJ FlahertyWlcc10471010104538170
35K/2Michael Flynn46CW16.1073dns0101010103710160
35K/2John Conroy15WLCC16.087524.2580155
35K/2John CarterCWDNS023.5184101047151
32K/1Ann Marie Egan7CW17.436325.57671010150
35K/2Anthony ChappatCW25.31404268150
35K/2Cathal Usher8WLCC16.187124.5577148
35K/2Graham CaseyWLCC1010421075147
35K/2Eamon Marrey1wlcc16.0974dns010104110145
38K/3Noel GibbonsWlcc15.3810104180141
32K/1Aaron Doherty29CW16.221029.075278140
35K/2Tom Moran24CW17.286625.1373139
32K/1Adrian Dervin17WLCC29.055328.15551020138
32K/1Gerry Sheridan20WLCC19.165826.496110129
32K/1John Hughes6Wlcc19.015927.445810127
32K/1Marie FraserWlccDNS028.4230.2453063116
38K/3Rory Smyth38CW15.3481dns0101010111
32K/1Alan FlahertyWlccDNS027.40591010101010109
32/1Theo InghamCw18.511010106898
32K/1Dermot WardeCw16.3310107797
32K/1Breege Morrin4Wlcc24.1854dns202094
32K/1David RodgersCw16.33107686
35K/2Sean HastingsCw454186
38K/3Noel BradyCw22.268686
35K/2Paul DuddyWlccDNS026.4062101082
35K/2Colm Mulroy27CW15.3980dns080
32K/1Anto CarneyWlccDNS025.53681078
35K/2Vincent Kelly13CW17.3365dns01075
32K/1Martin Nee16CW16.1672dns072
32K/1Tommy LoughranCWDNS026.376363
38K/3Robert StauntonCW10371057
32K/1Ken Mc CarthyWlccDNS035.585151
32K/1Gerard CoyneWlcc101010101050
35K/2Tom Mc GrealCW4343
38K/3Mark QuigleyHELPINGWLCCDNS20dns02040
38/3Anthony MurrayCW4040
38/3Joe MarreyWLCC3939
32/1Sean o BoyleCw10101030
32K/1Michael NeedhamCw10101030
32/`1Brian GoldenWLCC101020
35K/2Padraic GannonCW101020
35K/2David HanahoeCW101020
35K/2David O MalleyCW101020
38K/3Gert HackHELPINGWLCCDNS20dns020
32/1Alan StephensWLCC1010
32K/1Aiden GillCw1010
32K/1Rebecca ConwayCw1010
32K/1Robert ConwayCw1010
32K/1Fergal O NeillWLCC1010
32K/1Kathleen BarryWLCC1010
32K/1John CumminsWLCC1010
35K/2John WalshWLCC1010
38/3Michael MoranWLCC1010
38K/3Cormac CaddenCW1010
38K/3Danny MaloneyCW1010
38K/3Colin BrowneCW1010
38K/3Danny BuckleyCw1010
?? VaheyCW1010
38K/3Garry HigginsUN0
38K/3Stephen RonneyGW0